Posted in News on January 22, 2018

Pictured left to right: Jeff Disher, president of Disher and Lakeshore Advantage Board of Directors Vice Chair, Dave Koster and Tim Hemingway with Holland Energy Park, Jennifer Owens, president of Lakeshore Advantage, and Scott Lubbers, Community President - Holland of Fifth Third Bank (award sponsors)

1/22/2018 // ZEELAND, MICH – Dave Koster and Tim Hemingway received the Lakeshore Advantage Visionary Award at the Lakeshore Advantage Annual Meeting on Friday, January 19, attended by nearly 400 business and community leaders, for their efforts resulting in the Holland Energy Park. Community involvement in the project, environmental remediation, beautifying the eastern gateway to the City of Holland and capacity to generate power for the region’s current and future needs using natural gas were all cited as examples of the positive economic impact this project has had and will continue to have on the West Michigan Lakeshore region.  
"Our community set out to make Holland Energy Park a world-class resource, a destination, and a gateway," said Dave Koster, general manager of the Holland Board of Public Works. "We're deeply gratified to have earned the Visionary Award because it validates the sustainable, reliable and affordable power generation we've built to serve our community for decades to come."
The Visionary Award recognizes leaders who are looking forward and spearheading initiatives that involve commitment, creative thinking, collaboration, forming partnerships and taking actions not yet done before in the region to create a positive economic impact now and in years to come.  
“The persistence, forward thinking and consideration of our community’s talent retention and attraction and business growth needs were a focus of the Holland Board of Public Works’ leadership team in designing, equipping and building the Holland Energy Park,” said Jennifer Owens, Lakeshore Advantage president. “We are fortunate to have the planning, inclusiveness and thoughtful leadership of Dave Koster and Tim Hemingway, and all the Visionary Award finalists, moving keystone projects in our community forward.”
The Holland Energy Park was among three projects nominated for the award. The other Visionary Award finalists were:
  • Brian Walker, Herman Miller, Peter Haines, Ottawa Area ISD & Dr. Bill PinkGrand Rapids Community College for their efforts in developing the Careerline Tech Center Early College Program where students have a potential to earn college credit and an Industrial Maintenance Certificate while still in high school.
  • Mike Goorhouse, Community Foundation of Holland/Zeeland Area & Holly Johnson, Grand Haven Area Community Foundation for their leadership and partnership in working toward a workforce and affordable housing solution in Ottawa County by establishing Housing Next. 
Lakeshore Advantage investors were invited to vote for their top choice among these three finalists previously identified by the Lakeshore Advantage Board of Directors to receive the Visionary Award. The Lakeshore Advantage Annual Meeting is a gathering of Lakeshore Advantage investors and business and community leaders in the West Michigan Lakeshore region.
“Each of these award finalists has helped to positively impact economic change over the past year. Their efforts will continue to bear economic fruit for many years to come,” said Owens.